NMAPC Honors 16th Annual Zero Injury Safety Award Winners

NMAPC 16th Annual Zero Injury Safety Awards (ZISA) Gala Video from TAUC - NMAPC on Vimeo.

WASHINGTON, DC - The National Maintenance Agreements Policy Committee, Inc. (NMAPC) is pleased to congratulate the winners of the 16th Annual Zero Injury Safety Awards® (ZISA®), the premier safety recognition program in the union construction and maintenance industry. The ZISA® Gala was held on Thursday, October 27 at the historic National Building Museum in Washington, D.C.

Each Zero Injury Safety Award® recognizes an alliance between owner-clients, signatory contractors and local and international unions who worked together in a tripartite fashion to achieve zero injuries on their industrial construction and maintenance projects. This year, 122 winning tripartite teams were honored - the most in ZISA history. Of that number, 119 worked together under the auspices of the National Maintenance Agreement (NMA), while three teams worked under the National Construction Agreement (NCA).

Altogether, the 122 winning teams accounted for more than 22 million injury-free hours worked in calendar year 2015 - also the most in ZISA history, shattering the previous record by nearly two million work hours. This brings the grand total of injury-free work hours recognized to more than 200 million since the ZISA® program began sixteen years ago.

A complete list of winners can be found here.

The highlight of the evening was the presentation of the top ZISA® honor - the Gold Star Award, reserved for projects that have documented more than one million injury-free hours. This year the top Gold Star Award went to BMWC Constructors, Inc. (contractor), ExxonMobil (owner-client) and the Will and Grundy Counties Building Trades Council (labor) for performing 1,289,230 injury-free work hours at the Joliet Refinery in Joliet, Illinois.

Another top team was The State Group Industrial (USA) Limited (contractor), Alcoa Inc. (owner-client) and the Southwestern Indiana Building Trades Council (labor). This tripartite alliance was awarded the top ZISA® Silver Star Award for performing 981,146 injury-free work hours at the Warrick Generating Station in Newburgh, Indiana. Silver Star Awards are given to projects that have documented between 500,000 and 999,999 hours worked without a recordable injury.

The top award in the Bronze Star category, for injury-free projects between 200,000 and 499,999 hours, went to Kiewit Power Constructors (contractor), Indianapolis Power & Light Company (owner-client) and the Southwestern Indiana Building Trades Council (labor) for 450,736 injury-free work hours performed at the Petersburg Generating Station in Petersburg, Indiana.

The Certificate of Merit category recognizes projects that have documented between 50,000 and 199,999 work hours performed without a recordable injury. This year's top Certificate of Merit winners were McCarl's Inc. (contractor), FirstEnergy Corp. (owner-client) and the Beaver County Building Trades Council for performing 172,600 injury-free work hours at the Bruce Mansfield Plant in Shippingport, Pennsylvania.

This year, NMAPC also introduced a new award category: the Project Recognition Program, which recognizes NMAPC Yellow Card Projects with 500,000 or more hours worked with zero recordable injuries project wide. All contractors, subcontractors and unions working on the Yellow Card project are recognized. The first-ever Project Recognition Program Award recognized 616,278 injury-free work hours performed on the Empire Riverton Unit 12 Combined Cycle Conversion project at the Riverton Power Plant in Riverton, Kansas. The primary team on the project was Burns & McDonnell Engineering Company (construction manager), The Empire District Electric Company (owner-client) and the Southeast Kansas Building Trades Council (labor). In addition, 20 contractors and 14 local unions were also honored for their injury-free work on the project.

The centerpiece of this year's Gala was a stunning new video (see top of page) chronicling the history of the Zero Injury concept. NMAPC was honored that Emmitt Nelson, the "godfather" of Zero Injury, generously participated in the production of this video. 

NMAPC congratulates all of this year's winners.

To view and download pictures from this year's Gala, click here.


November 02, 2016